Landslide Victory for Dr. Abiy Ahmed, Demeke Mekonnen Declines Nomination


A developing story from Addis Fortune states Dr. Abiy Ahmed’s chairmanship was a landslide victory – ~ 60% – over other nominees.

The newspaper’s website claims the incumbent Deputy Prime Minister Demeke Mekonnen declined to be nominated. Therefore, Demeke’s dedicated votes seem to have gone directly to Dr. Abiy.

Demeke Mekonnen was expected to run for the chairmanship as Amhara National Democratic Movement (ANDM) party’s nominee. We have no information as to why he bowed out from the election.

Vote Count – Latest

According to Fortune, Dr. Abiy received 108 votes. Shiferaw Shigute from SPDM had 59 votes. The TPLF nominee Debretsion Gebremichael (PhD) had only 2 votes.

The EPRDF Council has 180 members, but currently, it has 175 members after TPLF ‘removed’ 5 of its members. The position of the remaining 6 voters has not been verified.

We will provide further details as soon as we receive validated information.

የተመረጡና ሰበር ዜናዎችን ያግኙ